Saturday, December 5, 2015

20 Interesting Facts about Indian Armed Forces: Army, Navy, Air Forces

Indian Armed Forces or Military Forces (Logo, emblem and flags): Indian Army, Indian Navy, Indian Air Force
Indian Armed Forces (Logos, Emblems and Flags): Indian Army, Indian Navy, Indian Air Forces

Indian Armed Forces consist of three branches: Indian Army, Indian Navy, and Indian Air Force. The proud of India, Indian Military Forces are the reason behind the peace of country’s civilians. Let’s know 20 knowledgeable facts about this structure.

20 Interesting Facts of Indian Armed Forces: Army, Navy, Air Force

Indian Armed Forces

1. The uniformed services of India, Indian Armed Forces are responsible for defending the governing body of the nation.

2. The President of India plays the Supreme Commander of military forces. The three armed forces are managed under the Ministry of Defense and represented by Union Cabinet Minister of Defense who leads it.

3. The powerful strength of 1.3 million personnel makes it the largest volunteer army of the entire world and third largest one as a military force.

4. The President of India leads the entire Indian Armed Force as Commander-in-Chief of the Army, Navy, and Air Forces.

Indian Army

5. The largest among all three branches of Indian Armed Forces, Indian Army is a land-based military force.

6. A four star general commands the Indian Army as the Chief of Army Staff- abbreviated as COAS.

7. The primary role of Indian Army is to secure the nation and its unity through defending the civilians and country from all external threats that can harm the maintenance of peace within the borders.

8. When needed, this force can be recruited to cope with internal insecurities and threats too. In case of natural calamities, it also performs the humanitarian rescue operations.

Indian Navy

9. Indian Navy is a naval-based force which protects the water-sides and sea areas of a country. It is responsible to defend the maritime borders of the nation.

10. A four star officer commands the Indian Navy as Chief of Naval Staff, abbreviated as CNS.

11. In humanitarian missions and operations or in case of disasters, Indian Navy participates to extend relief. It come ahead to enhance the international relationships of a nation with other countries.

12. Earlier it was known as Royal Indian Navy. After the emergence of India as a republic country, the Royal dropped from the title.

13. Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj, the Maratha Emperor of 17th century was given reverence through title- Father of the Indian Navy.

Indian Air Force

14. Indian Air Force is a defending Air Arm which protects Indian airspace.

15. A four star commander, an Air Chief Marshal commands Indian Air Force as Chief of Air Staff.

16. Indian Air Force is accountable for conducting the aerial warfare at times of conflicts.

17. It secures 4th place among the largest Air Forces of the world.

18. For its services in World War II, Indian Air Force was known as Royal Indian Air Forces in 1945. The Royal prefix was removed after India’s independence and recognition as a republic country.

Indian Paramilitary Forces

19. Indian Armed forces are supported and assisted by three paramilitary forces: Special Frontier Force, Indian Coast Guard, and Assam Rifles.

20. Generally considered as Paramilitary Forces, the central Armed Police Forces are led by Indian Police Service Officers, which is controlled under the Ministry of Home Affairs, instead of the Ministry of Defense.

No comments:

Post a Comment


Live Healthy!

See More Healthy

Copyright ©